# What to do before and after an uninstall + reinstall \[Wiki post\]

**URL:** https://forum.flowx.io/t/what-to-do-before-and-after-an-uninstall-reinstall-wiki-post/752
**Category:** General
**Created:** [July 13, 2020, 7:02am UTC](https://forum.flowx.io/t/what-to-do-before-and-after-an-uninstall-reinstall-wiki-post/752 "2020-07-13T07:02:16Z")
**Posts on this page:** 1
**Showing post:** 2

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Ohan](https://forum.flowx.io/user_avatar/forum.flowx.io/ohan/32/249_2.png) [@Ohan](https://forum.flowx.io/u/Ohan)
#### Post date: [July 13, 2020, 7:29am UTC](https://forum.flowx.io/t/what-to-do-before-and-after-an-uninstall-reinstall-wiki-post/752/2 "2020-07-13T07:29:12Z")

</div>

The answer to why not more settings are saved in the export:

> [@\[Antiquated topic\] What to do before and after an uninstall + reinstall](https://forum.flowx.io/t/antiquated-topic-what-to-do-before-and-after-an-uninstall-reinstall/390/10):
>
> I don’t save settings for a couple of reasons. 1. it would take ages to maintain and keep up to date in the code and reject old settings that don’t exist anymore. 2. a setting could be causing a crash or bug and reimporting all the settings will result in the same problem.
> 
> Importing places and graphs do work. You deleted the graph from the place not the app. If you export the place, then change the place, e.g., delete a graph, then reimport the place, it’ll look the same again. If you export a graph, edit the graphs, then you import them back in, then your graphs will look like the exported ones.
> 
> This is a convenience feature so you don’t have to setup all your place and graphs again on the rare occasion you reinstall. Or to share with other.

---

_[View the full topic](https://forum.flowx.io/t/what-to-do-before-and-after-an-uninstall-reinstall-wiki-post/752)._
