Release 3.314 (15 Jan 2021)Beta

Release 3.314 (15 Jan 2021)Beta

• New ~1km domain for the Cook Islands. Thanks again Expedition Marine.

• Fixed an Openzone crashing bug.

• Fixed the Expedition Marine domains in Sydney.

1 Like

Please turn off Apple icon in menu bar. It is an affront and weird ad for Apple in an Android app. (I’m no lawyer, but I suspect you are also in trademark violation unless you are using the Apple icon with their permission. I doubt you want to tangle with Apple IP attorneys.) I know you want to advertise for Apple app programmers, but this is a dogshit way to do it.

David

3 Likes

I’ve had a range of responses from this Apple ad.

A majority of people have been positive. People are genuinely happy we are going to Apple, even if they don’t use Apple themselves. For example:

“Can’t tell you how much I love and depend on your app. I used to make fun of Apple users who don’t have it, now I feel sorry for them. Glad to hear you are developing an Apple version:)”

Some use both Android and Apple and ask to go on the email list for updates or testing Apple.

Some worry Flowx is going to ditch Android for Apple like DarkSky. I explain, I use Android so that would not be happening.

And a few are just damn negative and intolerant, and to be honest, this riles me. For example:

“so all you care about is apple and your going leave a ton of android users high and dry smart move help you do that I don’t think so”

This is projecting your dislike of Apple on to others. Let’s be honest, this has nothing to do with lawyers and trademark violations - you could not care less - this is disingenuous. Nor are you really warning me about getting into a tangle with Apple IP attorneys - you are just using fear to intimidate me - this I don’t like.

This is all about you.